Mini Cooper Forums - Mini Cooper Enthusiast Forums

Mini Cooper Forums - Mini Cooper Enthusiast Forums (https://minicooperforums.com/forum/)
-   07-up MINI Cooper/Cooper S (R56) (https://minicooperforums.com/forum/07-up-mini-cooper-cooper-s-r56-31/)
-   -   Want a louder "PSSSHH" sound (https://minicooperforums.com/forum/07-up-mini-cooper-cooper-s-r56-31/want-louder-pssshh-sound-10991/)

MiniR56sbm 05-03-2018 11:48 AM

Want a louder "PSSSHH" sound

Hello everyone! I have a 07 R56 S, it is manual and I would love to have a louder whistle. I'm looking into upgrading the blow off valve but I am also a car noob. Any recommendations? Also, do I buy the adapter for a BOV or the whole kit? Is there a way to not break the bank? I've already looked at forge but not exactly sure what to buy and I don't want to buy unnecessary parts.
-Thank you in advance!

ThtR56Guy 05-04-2018 11:10 AM

Hey all you have to do to get a bigger turbo whistle and blow off is get a Cold Air Intake. If you arent satisfied with that then you can look into BOV

RCBound 05-05-2018 12:25 PM

Since you are new to any car mods, maybe the Forge BOV setup would be best for you. There isn't any altering of hoses, it just replaces the re-circulation setup. I have an 07 R56 S also and am considering the Forge for simplicity. I haven't done a ton of research yet to see if the Forge is actually good quality. I need to personally do more research into a BOV being installed after the air has been metered possibly causing an issue. Normally it will just cause a car to run rich between shifts. I've heard of it causing issues but I need to look into it more. The Forge won't cause any issues from what I've read.