Mini Cooper Forums - Mini Cooper Enthusiast Forums

Mini Cooper Forums - Mini Cooper Enthusiast Forums (https://minicooperforums.com/forum/)
-   2002-2006 Mini Cooper S (R53) (https://minicooperforums.com/forum/2002-2006-mini-cooper-s-r53-12/)
-   -   front end damage (https://minicooperforums.com/forum/2002-2006-mini-cooper-s-r53-12/front-end-damage-5913/)

Hawkfan72487 12-23-2012 02:09 AM

front end damage

sooo i managed to hit the re-tread of a semi tire on the highway last weekend. it ripped the bottom part of my front bumper off, seriously messed up the A/C condenser and Radiator and pushed the cooling fan into the motor which destroyed the fan. this happend because apparently the bottom of the radiator support got ripped off as well.

now i've got those parts ordered and they're on their way to my parent's house (seeing as they live on farm with a shop that has a car lift in it) and i have a background in fixing cars although i was a painter not a mechanic. I also have some background doing some minor work with the cooling systems in cars at another shop i worked at.

so i guess what my question to all of you is this. Have any of you removed your front bumper, radiator, radiator support and all of that? i've never worked on a mini in my short 4 years as an auto body painter. (also in case you're wondering no painted pieces got damaged by hitting the piece of the semi tire)

i talked to a local body shop(one that i had actually worked for for about a year) and my former boss told me that it was billed at 8hours of labor, and that total the bill would probably be around 1300 just to get it running again. that was without doing the bumper piece.

i found the parts myself for on average 30% less than the parts/price list he gave me and now with my background am going to do it myself. i know that being he told me it billed 8 it will probably only take me 3-4