07-up MINI Cooper/Cooper S (R56)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Don't Know what to order!

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2008, 06:32 PM
Default Don't Know what to order!

Hey guys, I'm new in the MC forums.

I am going to order a new Mini before this summer, hoping it will arrive before the end of august. I have no idea what to buy. I like the cooper, but I love the blacked out grille, hood scoop, and dual exhaust on the cooper S. Other than that, I like the cooper just as much. Is the cooper (non S) fun to drive still? I went to the dealership saturday, but didnt get to test drive one. I LOVE the interior on them. Any advice? is it worth the cutback on the MPG (and a few thousand bucks extra cost) just to get the S? Please help! Thanks!

Old 03-24-2008, 11:34 PM
Default RE: Don't Know what to order!

There ain't no one that can answer that question but you. The Mini is definately fun to drive. It is not nearly as fast as the Mini S, but still it handles great and is truely a neat little car. It doesn't have the status of an "S". To some people that is very important. Others could care less about that. I guess it comes down to if you are looking for fun basic transportation, and money is a real world concern, get a Mini. If you want a car that really gets it on, or if your aim is to impress kids down at the local pool hall, get a Mini S.
Most people who aren't paying for the car will tell you to get the Mini S. Why would they not, it is not their hard earned money. But in their defense, other than that few thousand bucks, there ain't too many downsides in buying the S.
MPG is mostly a function of how you drive. Both can get pretty good milage. It is easier to get better gas milage with the Mini and easier to get worse gas milage with the Mini S. I wouldn't let milage be the major force the decision.