General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Newbie; Convertible leak, pass side door, 2007

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2013, 08:41 PM
Default Newbie; Convertible leak, pass side door, 2007

Ok, so I am new to the Mini scene (well this time around, used to have them back in the 70's!), so I bought this Cooper convertible, 2007, and when it rains it pours in from the upper lip of the side passenger window area and just floods the floor.
The first time it was a major shower, so I thought ok, but then it was raining lightly and the same thing happened.....bugger.
I did check the rubber gasket along the window pillar that actually has a water passage channel inside of it, along with the gasket along the top of the windshield surround. what else to look for?
I placed a sheet of paper between the top and the windshield frame to see if one side was tighter than the other and it was a little looser on the pass leaky side.
Can you adjust how tight the top closes, or maybe how much the locking mechanism pulls the top and the frame together?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks, regards....Ian

Old 11-17-2013, 08:31 PM

Guys, am I doing this wrong? No suggestions or help of any kind, what do I need to do to get help?
Thx.....Ian. The craztbrit

Old 04-20-2014, 06:29 PM

I used to have a similar problem on a Miata. Ther should be weep (drain?) holes located in the rubber molding (gasket) on each side. I would try to snake a wire ( #14 ga - stranded electrical wire is good) down the drain tube. As a precaution, wrap a little electrical tape on the tip of the wire so it doesn't get "hung" up. Good luck!

Old 04-20-2014, 09:54 PM

I tried that and it was clear n didn't help. Thx for the suggestion tho.