General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Ask a MINI tech

Old 05-17-2008, 12:00 PM
Default Ask a MINI tech

hello everyone i am a tech at MINI of annapolis (formly Tate MINI) and figured if anyone had any issues just post and i can help you out the best i can. i have ran into almost all the concern that everyone on the board is talking about. i hope to be of help on the board.

Old 05-20-2008, 04:12 PM
Default RE: Ask a MINI tech

I have a question for you.

I just had my Mini S serviced at a local repair shop (out of warranty). They are a repair facility for BMW and Mercedes. Well any way: The Service Engine light keeps coming on. I had these guys check it out. They threw a computer on it and it gave a

code 001 followed by

"1, 45, 4, 55 refer to tech service manual"

The light has been reset several times and each second run cycle it comes on.
What is this telling you and what must I do to fix it?

Bob

Old 05-20-2008, 11:06 PM

Whenever I toggle thru the onboard computer i am getting weird readouts..it looks like the temp is accurate as with the speed but the mpgs fluctuates madly then goes up to 99.9.
any ideas?

Old 05-25-2008, 09:53 PM

I purchased a 2003 Mini a few days ago and am going through it to check all of the filters, change oil, etc. While changing the oil, I noticed a 2-3" fan on the undercarriage. My first question is where can I get a Chilton type manual for the Mini so I can read about it rather than bother you. Second, It looks like there was a plastic undercarriage that covers the underside of the car (and protects the fan I imagine). Is that a dealer only part zndis it necessary to have under the car.

Old 05-26-2008, 03:17 AM